The Orbislo Price Index
What a gigabyte of travel data actually costs.
A published comparison across 8 regions and 145 destinations, recomputed on the 24th of every month. Including the two regions where we lose.
Measured 24 August 2026. Recomputed on the 24th of every month.
$2.89
median cost per gigabyte in Europe, the cheapest region in the world
$7.89
median cost per gigabyte in Oceania, the most expensive
Cost per gigabyte by region
| Region | Destinations | Orbislo | Airalo | Saily | Cheapest |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Europe | 46 | $1.98 | $2.10 | $2.30 | Orbislo |
| Asia | 26 | $2.58 | $3.20 | $2.80 | Orbislo |
| Middle East | 10 | $4.18 | $3.50 | $3.40 | Saily |
| Africa | 20 | $7.18 | $4.20 | $3.90 | Saily |
| North America | 10 | $5.38 | $2.60 | $2.40 | Saily |
| South America | 10 | $5.38 | $3.10 | $2.95 | Saily |
| Caribbean | 13 | $13.18 | $3.90 | $3.60 | Saily |
| Oceania | 10 | $6.98 | $3.40 | $3.60 | Airalo |
Our figure is the median across every destination we sell in that region, computed from the live catalog. Competitor figures are the lowest publicly listed metered plan covering a comparable regional footprint on 24 August 2026. Holafly is absent because it sells almost no metered plans, which makes a cost per gigabyte undefined rather than high.
Europe $1.98 · Caribbean $13.18
What this index measures
One number, held constant: the price of one gigabyte of usable mobile data for a traveller, in one region, from a provider that sells to consumers directly.
It is not a survey of headline prices. A headline price on a travel data plan is nearly meaningless, because the four products in this market are sold in four different units.
Some are metered gigabytes with an expiry date. Some are metered gigabytes with no expiry date. Some are day passes with an undisclosed throttle. Some are monthly subscriptions with a fair use policy that is not published as a number.
The index converts all of them to one unit, dollars per gigabyte, and then publishes the working so you can disagree with it.
The method
Six steps, run the same way every month. Anybody with a browser and a spreadsheet can repeat it, which is the point.
- Take the lowest publicly listed consumer price for a metered plan covering each destination, from each provider, on the measurement date. No affiliate rates, no promotional codes, no first purchase discounts.
- Divide the price by the included data to get a raw cost per gigabyte. Prices in other currencies are converted at the European Central Bank reference rate for that day.
- For each region, take the median across every destination in that region. A median rather than a mean, because one very expensive island would otherwise drag a whole region.
- Exclude unlimited day passes and subscriptions from the raw comparison, because a plan with no gigabyte count cannot honestly be expressed in dollars per gigabyte. They are discussed separately further down.
- Record the sample size, which is the number of destinations behind each regional figure, and print it in the table next to the number.
- Publish the date measured, and recompute on the 24th of the following month.
The number that is not on the sticker
A gigabyte you paid for and could not use is not a gigabyte. It is a donation.
Every major travel eSIM plan except ours carries an expiry date, usually 30 days. Industry estimates put wasted purchased travel data at 20 to 35 percent, and that waste is revenue for the seller.
So the raw index above understates the difference. Adjust for expiry at the conservative end of that range, 25 percent, and the effective cost per usable gigabyte moves in a way the sticker price hides.
The table below works the adjustment for a 10 GB Europe plan. The assumptions are stated so you can change them. If you genuinely use every gigabyte you buy before it expires, the first column is your number and the last one is not.
Twenty gigabytes, global, by cost per gigabyte
The same quantity of data, from every global seller we could price, on one date. Plan size gets its own column because Jetpac's nearest global plan is thirty gigabytes, and setting that sticker against a twenty gigabyte one would flatter it.
| Provider | Plan | List price | Per gigabyte | Expiry |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orbislo | 20 GB | $27.89 | $1.39 | Never expires |
| Jetpac | 30 GB | $69.99 | $2.33 | Expires |
| aloSIM | 20 GB | $62.00 | $3.10 | Expires |
| Saily | 20 GB | about $64.00 | $3.20 | Expires |
| Airalo | 20 GB | $66.00 | $3.30 | Expires |
| Nomad | 20 GB | $103.00 | $5.15 | Expires |
Every price read off the seller's own site on 31 August 2026. The Saily figure is marked approximate because it moves with a promotion that runs most weeks. Ours is generated from the wallet, so this table cannot quote a price the checkout does not charge. One oddity worth recording: on Jetpac's own destination plans a 20 GB month costs $40.89 while a 30 GB month costs $30.89, so buying more data there costs less. That is their published pricing, not a transcription error.
Unlimited, and the allowance behind the word
Thirty days of global unlimited, cheapest first, with the sellers who publish no comparable thirty day price at the end. The column that decides whether a plan is any good is not the price, it is how much of it runs at full speed.
| Provider | Thirty days | Full speed allowance | Speed after that | Where that number is published |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Saily | about $31.00 | 3 or 5 GB a day | 1 Mbps | In the buy box, before you pay |
| Maya | $49.99 | 3 GB a day | 10 Mbps, then 1 Mbps | Help centre only, and the marketing says the opposite |
| Jetpac | $65.99 | 3 GB a day | 1 Mbps | On the plan page |
| Orbislo | $64.89 | 2 GB a day | 1 Mbps | On our buy button |
| Yesim | EUR 79 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Nowhere we could find |
| Ubigi | $108.00 | 60 GB for the whole 30 days | 2 Mbps | On the plan page |
| Airalo | $159.00 | 3 GB a day | 1 Mbps | On the plan page |
| Holafly | $161.50 | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Nowhere we could find |
| Firsty | from EUR 2.50 a day | 5 GB a day | 512 Kbps | On the plan page |
| aloSIM | Regional plans only | 3 GB a day | 1 Mbps in one place, 512 Kbps in another | Two of their own figures disagree |
| Nomad | Regional plans only | 2 GB a day | 1 Mbps in one place, 512 Kbps in another | Two of their own figures disagree |
| GigSky | No price listed | 2.5 GB a day on one page, 3.5 GB a day on another | Not disclosed | Two of their own figures disagree |
Read on each seller's own site on 31 August 2026. Maya markets a plan that never throttles while Maya's own help centre describes two throttle steps, so the help centre is what this table records. aloSIM and Nomad each publish two different speeds for the same throttle, and both figures are printed above rather than averaged. aloSIM and Nomad also sell unlimited on regional plans only, so neither has a global thirty day price to quote. Firsty sells by the day rather than by the month, so its price is not a thirty day sticker. The Jetpac figures come from jetpacglobal.com. A similarly named jetpac.io belongs to an unrelated company and is not the seller compared here.
Our own row sits at the bottom of the full speed column, level with Nomad, under the three gigabytes a day that Maya, Airalo, Jetpac and aloSIM publish, and under Firsty's five. Raising it is an open item rather than a decision already taken, and it stays printed here until it changes.
Marketed destinations against destinations on the plan
What a seller puts on its home page, next to the number of destinations its global plan actually reaches, counted the same way for everybody including us.
| Provider | Marketed | On the global plan | How the second number was reached |
|---|---|---|---|
| Instabridge | 190+ | 114 | Counted from their own destination list |
| Yesim | 200+ | 83 | Counted from their own destination list |
| Nomad | 200+ | 123 | Counted from their own destination list |
| aloSIM | 200+ | 147 | Counted from their own destination list |
| Maya | 165+ on one page, 208+ on another | 141 | Their own regional breakdown adds up to this |
| Orbislo | 145 | 145 | Counted from our catalog, which is what our API returns |
Counted on 31 August 2026. Our marketed figure is generated from the catalog rather than typed by a person, which is the only reason our two columns agree. Until recently this site marketed 190+ while the catalog held 145, so that row is a correction of our own before it is a criticism of anybody else.
Why regional prices differ at all
Travel data is bought wholesale from local carriers, and wholesale rates are set by conditions the traveller never sees.
Europe is cheap because roaming regulation forced wholesale caps across the single market, and because dozens of carriers compete inside one regulatory frame. This is why Europe sits at $2.89 while everywhere else is above it.
Asia is mixed. Singapore, South Korea and Japan are cheap and fast. Nepal, Myanmar and Mongolia are neither, and they pull the regional median up.
Africa and the Caribbean are expensive for the same reason: a small number of carriers per country, high backhaul costs, and in island markets a genuine dependence on submarine cable capacity.
Oceania is the most expensive region in the world for travel data, and the reason is simply that three carriers serve a continent and none of them are short of demand.
Cost per usable gigabyte, worked for a 10 GB Europe plan
| Provider | Listed price | Raw cost per GB | Expires | Effective cost per usable GB |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orbislo wallet, 10 GB | $16.89 | $1.69 | Never | $1.69 |
| Orbislo Europe pack, 10 GB | $16.89 | $1.69 | Never | $1.69 |
| Airalo Europe, 10 GB | $21.00 | $2.10 | 30 days | $2.80 |
| Saily Europe, 10 GB | $22.99 | $2.30 | 30 days | $3.07 |
Effective cost assumes 25 percent of an expiring plan goes unused, the conservative end of the 20 to 35 percent range that industry estimates give for wasted purchased travel data. If you use every gigabyte before expiry, the effective column equals the raw column and the advantage disappears. Listed prices taken on 24 August 2026.
What this index does not tell you
Cost per gigabyte is one axis, and buying purely on it would be a mistake.
A cheap gigabyte at 1 Mbps is worse than an expensive one at 60 Mbps. Independent testing measured Airalo at 10 to 22 Mbps and Holafly near 7 Mbps before throttling and under 1 Mbps after.
Unlimited plans are excluded from the raw table because dollars per gigabyte is undefined without a gigabyte count. What they cost, and how much of each one runs at full speed, is in the unlimited table above.
Coverage breadth is a separate axis again. Airalo reaches 169 destinations, Saily around 121, Holafly 113, and we are at 145 live today with over 200 at launch. If your destination is not on a provider's list, their price per gigabyte is irrelevant to you.
So read this index next to the measured speed data rather than instead of it. Both are published, both carry sample sizes, and both are recomputed on a schedule.
How often this updates, and what we commit to
Recomputed on the 24th of every month and republished the same day, with the measurement date stamped on the page and returned in the structured data.
Every region is recomputed in the monthly run, and the archive of previous months stays online.
The dataset is also readable by machines. The same figures are emitted as structured data on this page and exposed through our Model Context Protocol endpoint, so an assistant can quote them with the date attached.
If you find an error, write to [email protected] with the listing you are looking at. We correct within 48 hours and note the correction on the page.
The three largest providers on the axes that are not price
| Provider | Destinations | Unlimited fair use | Measured speed | Data expires |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Orbislo | 145 live, 200 plus at launch | Full speed to 2 GB a day, then 1 Mbps, both printed on the buy button | Published per country with sample sizes | No |
| Airalo | 169 | Throttles near 3 GB a day | 10 to 22 Mbps in third party testing | Yes, usually 30 days |
| Saily | Around 121 | 3 or 5 GB a day, printed in the buy box | Bundles ad blocking audited at 28.6 percent data saved | Yes, usually 30 days |
| Holafly | 113 | No published fair use number | Near 7 Mbps before throttling, under 1 Mbps after | Yes, per plan window |
Competitor figures are from third party testing and from each provider's public listings on 24 August 2026. Where a provider does not publish a number, we write that they do not publish it rather than estimating one on their behalf. The unlimited column was rechecked on 31 August 2026.
An open question we have not settled
Maya's own cruise page shows 30 days for $50.89. Resellers list what appears to be the same product at $300.89.
Maya's own page was fetched again and carries the same global prices as the rest of their catalogue, with no cruise premium at all. The $300.89 figure appears only on reseller listings and is nowhere on Maya's own estate, so we treat it as stale rather than as a second price.
What is still open is not the number. Maya markets cruise coverage across twenty plus cruise lines and publishes nothing about whether it works at sea or only in port, and neither does anybody else selling a cruise plan. Until that is answered, no page on this site makes a claim about cruise coverage, theirs or ours.
Questions about the method
How is the index calculated?
When was this measured and how often is it updated?
Why exclude unlimited plans from the comparison?
Why is Europe so much cheaper than everywhere else?
Does a cheaper gigabyte mean a better plan?
Can I republish these numbers?
What if I think a number is wrong?
Check the index against the actual prices
Every figure on this page comes from public listings, including ours. Compare them yourself, and buy from whoever comes out ahead for your trip.